I was trying to test out some verb command tricks and I found out that the verbs do not slow down and wait until their step is completed anyone have any recommendations on how to go about getting the verb or inkscape to spool the commands or do I have to absolutely have this running in a python extension?
Thanks in advance
Shawn
How to slow down verbs
Re: How to slow down verbs
Shawn, can you explain your goal in a bit more detail? (I don't understand why anyone would want the command line to work slower than it does...)
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!
Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)
Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)
-
- Posts: 70
- Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:32 am
Re: How to slow down verbs
When running the following (Which was my trial to get some code for the Difference post, Inkscape skips some commands and I am assuming that the system goes to fast
Here's my code that I'm using after modifying my original SVG to be split into layers by color. (Using Eggbot Post Trace)
--------------
inkscape _Wallpaper1.svg --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=FileSave --verb=FileClose
----------------
On it's own when doing the commands manually everything is flawless but with the command line script the system chokes at the 10th Difference and doesn't reach 16 layers (My goal is to get 256 layers working) but if it's not possible this way I'll still go post this on the git you mentioned however I was trying to avoid you extra work as currently I had the time to mess around with this.
Shawn
Here's my code that I'm using after modifying my original SVG to be split into layers by color. (Using Eggbot Post Trace)
--------------
inkscape _Wallpaper1.svg --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=EditSelectAllInAllLayers --verb=org.inkscape.filter.multipledifference.noprefs --verb=LayerToggleHide --verb=LayerPrev --verb=FileSave --verb=FileClose
----------------
On it's own when doing the commands manually everything is flawless but with the command line script the system chokes at the 10th Difference and doesn't reach 16 layers (My goal is to get 256 layers working) but if it's not possible this way I'll still go post this on the git you mentioned however I was trying to avoid you extra work as currently I had the time to mess around with this.
Shawn
Re: How to slow down verbs
Could be a problem with the subprocesses I'm starting in the extension. Although the docs say that the way it is done, it will wait until it's finished...
I'm not at all sure about this - or who to ask for help. Googling it didn't really get me any further. Shawn, can you post a file that contains the kind of contents the command will work with, so I can try it out myself?
@Everyone: Is there any python subprocess module expert around?
I'm not at all sure about this - or who to ask for help. Googling it didn't really get me any further. Shawn, can you post a file that contains the kind of contents the command will work with, so I can try it out myself?
@Everyone: Is there any python subprocess module expert around?
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!
Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)
Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)
-
- Posts: 70
- Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:32 am
Re: How to slow down verbs
@Moini
Sure I'll upload the file tomorrow (I'm currently not at my workstation) with a manual one completed so you can get the in's and outs and maybe we can figure out the in-between, i'm sure it's just something missing either in the extension like you mentioned or just some weird combination that caused this flaw.
I'm sure someone will find a solution as I know this works perfectly if I do them manually.
Shawn
Sure I'll upload the file tomorrow (I'm currently not at my workstation) with a manual one completed so you can get the in's and outs and maybe we can figure out the in-between, i'm sure it's just something missing either in the extension like you mentioned or just some weird combination that caused this flaw.
I'm sure someone will find a solution as I know this works perfectly if I do them manually.
Shawn
-
- Posts: 70
- Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:32 am
Re: How to slow down verbs
@Moini
Sent you a PM if you think the information is clear enough I'll post it here on the forum to get other people's help
Shawn
Sent you a PM if you think the information is clear enough I'll post it here on the forum to get other people's help
Shawn
Re: How to slow down verbs
Any solution to this? Have the same problem
Found this question back in 2008 that also seems to be the same problem.
viewtopic.php?t=1570
Found this question back in 2008 that also seems to be the same problem.
viewtopic.php?t=1570